RCBOs replacing MCBs

Talk Electrician Forum

Help Support Talk Electrician Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Joeski1953

Reaction score
Newbie here, joe just joined thanks in advance.
Cutting a long story short, My brother has a property he's renting out, current certification advised plastic consumer unit needed changing, changed to metal with RCBOs and anti-surge. It will need a retest obviously, has anybody ever come cross led (internal controls and drivers) tripping the RCBO? All other fittings (with no internal controls) work, There is upstairs and downstairs and sockets all on separate RCBOs, I know I've heard about spiked inrushes etc, but what's the remedy? The fitting is very extravagant with bars that light up ( leds 4 long shaped bars) When this gets disconnected nothing trips. If that goes back up all lights upstairs will work, but when we switch this one on it trips? Has anybody come across this before, i will post a picture of fitting and control ballast if it helps, he wants it (being very expensive) back up.
Obviously we will need a retest but we cant do this until we have something on the landing. Previously the unit was plastic with mcbs, nothing ever tripped, it was certificated as he let it previously. He is acting on the advisory.
I'm just wondering if I'm, wrong with my speculation, and what to do next.
Thanks to all in advance, (go easy I'm new)

Last edited:
may need a type C instead of B, or possible a 10a instead of 6a

and why does it 'obviously need a retest'? existing EICR (even if unsatisfactory) is still valid, your EIC/MWC for remedials will cover the unsatisfactory on the EICR

may need a type C instead of B, or possible a 10a instead of 6a

and why does it 'obviously need a retest'? existing EICR (even if unsatisfactory) is still valid, your EIC/MWC for remedials will cover the unsatisfactory on the EICR