Solar advice... Complete novice

Talk Electrician Forum

Help Support Talk Electrician Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Lydanial

Reaction score
I'm really after some advice in terms of what I'm doing and what to look for.

I've had several quotes for the following requests.

12 panels, 5kw inverter and around 10kw batteries.

Quotes range from 9500-15000 but here are my questions.

What minimum wattage are tier 1 panels?
Should I get the same brand inverter and battery as a couple of quotes are mixing the two.

What brands are good for inverter as quotes include.
Sunsynk, givenergy, fox, luxin

What brands are good for batteries
Sunsynk, givenergy, fox, pylontech, greenlinx.

Can I get the power sent from the house to a detached garage?
If not is it wise to put the inverter and battery in the loft?
Should I request under stair cupboard instead (it's obviously cooler although I'm not sure how much heat it's given off from inverter and batteries).

What things should I look out for with the company before choosing?
What accreditations should I ensure they have?

Sorry for all the questions but I want to make sure I do this right first time around?

I'm really after some advice in terms of what I'm doing and what to look for.

I've had several quotes for the following requests.

12 panels, 5kw inverter and around 10kw batteries.
sounds good.
Quotes range from 9500-15000 but here are my questions.
beware double glazing sales tactics...

What minimum wattage are tier 1 panels?

Tier 1 is more about stock market investors, ie a company regarded as tier 1 generally is large and knocks out lots of panels, so a good propsect for building solar farms. It in no way makes them a better panel than another make. It means little to you as a domestic customer.
Should I get the same brand inverter and battery as a couple of quotes are mixing the two.
Mix and match is normal.