Summerhouse Wiring

Talk Electrician Forum

Help Support Talk Electrician Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

AJ564

Reaction score
Hello,

Firstly, I'm not an electrician by trade but I am after advice on a potentially tricky install.

A little background..... I have a 6' diameter portable hot tub made by mSpa (similar idea to Lay Z Spa) which, for the past 5 years, I have plugged into an RCD protected waterproof outside socket by the patio. So far so good! For information, the data label for the hot tub quotes a maximum current of 10A.

Now to the problem.... I recently built a 12' x 10' wooden summerhouse with the intention of using half of it for the portable hot tub and the other half as a sort of conservatory. I am trying to get an electrical supply installed.

My thoughts (based on the little bit I know) were to run an SWA cable (approx 40m) from a dedicated MCB on the house consumer unit to a separate RCD protected garage style consumer unit in the summer house positioned at the top of the wall above where the hot tub will be.

I was thinking of having a 16A MCB feeding a single waterproof socket mounted next to the consumer unit to plug the hot tub into.

I was also going to have a second 16A MCB feeding a radial circuit to supply two double sockets in the conservatory part for a small 1.5Kw oil filled radiator, table lamp and a radio.

The problem I'm having is, because of mentioning the portable hot tub, of the electricians I've asked to quote so far, I can't get any clear guidance on what regs apply and what is or isn't permissible to install. It's even been suggested it should be regarded as a bathroom!