What to do after college?

Talk Electrician Forum

Help Support Talk Electrician Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ELLIE_PVI

Reaction score
Hi guys, just wondering if I could get some insight into what people think is the best next step/s for me.

I'm currently in my final year of college (doing City and Guilds Lvl3 Electrical installation) and honestly don't know where to go from here.

I have very very little to no actual viable practical experience as the 2 opportunities I had to get an apprentiship previously were unsuccessful (Due to a new company not knowing what they needed and JTL receding their offer as they somehow didn't know how many days in college we did).

I want to become fully qualified but don't know the best route for me currently due to my lack of experience and the lack of any electrians mate/cable puller jobs near me.

Would still looking for an apprenticeship be best? Even though I'd have to pretty much repeat a year in college.

Also to add that I unfortunately at the lovely age of 20 do not yet have my driving licence so this has also been an issue. But my eyes are currently being checked to see if I can legally drive so hopefully this won't be an issue by the end of this year.

Any help would be greatful.

Ellie.

What is wrong with your eyes? Not colour blindness as this is an issue with becoming an electrician?
What area are you in?
Hi, no not colourblindness. I'm above the legal limit to drive but I am unable to see the numberplates at the test centre so I am in the midst of changing prescriptions to see if it'll help. And I live in Newport

New pair of lenses and you’ll be fine!
Sorry can’t help you with Newport don’t know anyone in that area specifically.

I’d suggest that you get an ECS card (link below) according to your qualifications. You may not have to do the test as your recent qualifications should cover you.