100 Amp Fuse Removed

Talk Electrician Forum

Help Support Talk Electrician Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.

podwin

Reaction score
Hi,

I am not an electrician, but know a little, such as you should not touch the 100 AMP fuses in houses, is that correct?

I have a business, it is in a semi detached house, it is an internet company so quite a few computers.

Next door is a hairdressers. About a year ago the old lady from next door had to arrange with me a time the electric could be cut off as she was having some electrical work done. When these houses built (or had electricity installed), one cable came off the road and was split between the properties, after the 100 AMP fuse. This seemed odd to me, but was told it was normal "back then".

The houses are old, when we bought the property it still had lead wiring!

Anyway, the split is in the hairdressers, so pulling their fuse cuts off my electric also.

Yesterday, new owners of the hairdresser are having electrical work done, and our supply gets cut without warning at around 5 pm.

I go next door and this electrician is confused, and actually said "I shouldn't really remove this" among other things.

I was annoyed at the time, but even more so because the alarm system has been crying "Tamper". The second time he cut the electric off the alarm went dead so it looks like the battery backup has been damaged,

One of our PCs will not turn back on, the heating seems to be on all the time, which I don't understand as I have check the timer.

So, my queries to you experts are:

1. Can doing this cause damage to electrical items?

2. We have a large bank of solar panels on the roof, will current from these have a bearing on issues cause when this fuse is removed?

3. The guy seems like an idiot, should I report him? Is what he did illegal?

Thanks

Martin

Last edited by a moderator: