Limited roof space but wanting some PV

Talk Electrician Forum

Help Support Talk Electrician Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

cjw76

Reaction score
Hi

I'm after some much-needed advice and thoughts from those with more than my zero experience as I'm a newbie in these parts. I've recently moved house and we'd really like to add some PV, but the roof is not the most friendly design - but is south facing, so I am thinking there could be some potential.

The roof has 3 dormer windows that interfere with the available space, so I think my only option is to have panels orientated landscape, but even then they would need to be relatively slim, because of the available space between the main ridge and where the ridge of the dormers join back to the roof. I've measured one of the slates to roughly estimate the dimensions of the space available.

So are there any experts in this forum who've faced a similar challenge and can advise on panels or fitters that might be able to help? ...or do I need to abandon the plan?

Screenshot 2022-09-15 at 08.20.28.png

So I've bought (not yet installed) the Jinko solar tiger 400w panels, as they are 10cm narrower than most others at 103cm.

I checked with the MCS about the 20cm gap around the edges of the panels, and they say it's only a recommendation and not a law, so you don't need it, especially as no one has been able to give me a reason for it yet. The only issue I can come up with from having the panels to the bottom edge of the roof is that heavy rain could run straight off your panel and miss your gutters. You could use the stuff that you put in the gutter that allows water to flow in but pushes leaves over the edge. It would act as a bird guard at the same time.

You need to get up on your roof and have a measure up to know for sure.