Moving old solar PV with FIT due to loft conversion, time for a new inverter?

Talk Electrician Forum

Help Support Talk Electrician Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Aquestam

Reaction score
Hello, newbie here! I've got a system inherited when I bought my house that was installed in 2011 with what I believe is a Diehl Controls Platinum 2100S 1.9kW Inverter, and 8x Sharp NU250 monocrystalline modules facing north east on the rear roof slope, which I can't find any information online, but I think it is this model NU-R250(J5) | Sharp

Now it is time to convert the loft, so these panels will need to be temporarily removed, and I'm hoping to install all of them back, but some of them instead of following the roof slope as originally installed, may be on top of the flat roof of the 2 small dormers.

The current inverter so far I can see does not give me any sort of remote connectivity/management, so I've no idea what happens without looking on its LCD screen. I have a brief chat with a solar PV installer around my area to check options and straight away they mentioned inverters life is between 10-12 years so I should look at replacing it. Of course I would love some monitoring to understand what is happening, and hopefully learn enough to justify adding another array of panels at the front slope of the roof one day, perhaps even adding more to a detached garage as well, batteries, and so on…

What are your thoughts on this existing inverter? It is quite large, I cannot manage it, does it make sense to buy something else? I've not even sure how much a replacement would cost.

I want to keep the FIT tariff, but what happens when a part goes faulty? Let's say one of the panels is broken, or the inverter, how can I replace faulty parts without affecting my FIT?