AC/DC power supply with 19.5V 7.9A issue

Talk Electrician Forum

Help Support Talk Electrician Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

spark45

Reaction score
Hi!

I have an AC/DC power supply with 19.5V 7.9A output from a desktop computer (a kind of All in One). Apparently it is a source similar to that of a laptop charger, same look.

For some time now, despite feeding the equipment well and working without cuts, if I disconnect it from the AC plug, I can no longer use it in hours or days... If I reconnect it, it doesn't work and then the LED that has does not light up, and you have to leave it, as I said, disconnected to use it again.

I have no advanced knowledge of electricity, I have disassembled it and apparently everything is correct, there are no inflated or burst capacitors.

Can you help me?

Thanks in advance.

Spark45, as you have no understanding of electronics, and no way of testing anything, it would be cheaper / easier to buy a new one. I would look on Amazon or ebay

Spark45, as you have no understanding of electronics, and no way of testing anything, it would be cheaper / easier to buy a new one. I would look on Amazon or ebay
Thanks, but I can solder/desoldering components. I see a big capacitor into the power suply, (3)7 DU, it's a brown big one. I see some videos on YouTube about similar power supply. I have no more info about this capacitor, can you help me?

I have no more info about this capacitor, can you help me?
Changing random components is never a good idea. You need to establish which component has failed and replace it with a working one of the same value.