Cable size from the consumer unit to inventer. 10-15 meters distance

Talk Electrician Forum

Help Support Talk Electrician Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

myky

Reaction score
Hi guys,

I am new to all of this, so please bear with me. I don't want to hijack any existing threads, so I decided to start a new one.

Please see the attached picture of my consumer unit with a fusebox and a shed that measures 5.5x3m. Three-bed house with an electric car.

While I am doing my extension, I plan to run an armoured cable from the consumer unit to the shed for future use, hopefully for the solar panels project.

The shed is a decent size, and I think it can accommodate some solar panels on the roof + some on my extension.

What cable would you recommend? I am okay with using a slightly larger one if necessary.

Checking the post below, I am still confused between types.
https://electricianforum.co.uk/thre...-inverter-and-consumer-unit.56094/post-541429
Thanks, myky

Attachments

• IMG_1133.jpg
    IMG_1133.jpg
    930.2 KB · Views: 1
  • IMG_1134.jpg
    IMG_1134.jpg
    801.7 KB · Views: 0
Probably best just running a bit of ducting just now with some thin blue rope in it, that way when your project spec is clear you can pull in the correct cable / cables as there might be comms stuff involved as well.

Hi @roys

Thanks, So you recon best to get trunking ready? It won't be too easy, but I will keep that in mind.
Is there a cable that can be put in now that will be sufficient for a potential project? Something common that ppl do for a solar setup (average cable for average setup but with a bit of buffer/feature use) or something? Thanks, myky

can you check the inverter manual?

for example the solax manual tells you what cable you need and what AMP breakers.

example below.

also depends on how manual panels your going to be doing and what they can push
1678797152087.png

Hi @roys