Danger House!!! Please help

Talk Electrician Forum

Help Support Talk Electrician Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Paul B

Reaction score
I'm not an electrician. I do however do minor electrical work in my own home and very carefully follow every safety aspect that I can find. I have a friend who's house is what I would call a "death trap" with electrical work that I could not (even as a home DIY person) live with in any shape or form.

The lady in question cannot (from me; because "I'm not an electrician") be convinced that her home is a real danger.

Example 1: The house is a standard three bedroom semi in Lancashire. When you walk in the front door and into the hallway... Out of the main consumer unit (wooden cabinet) near the front door  someone has lead cables out of the box and pinned them to the skirting board quite low down maybe four inches above ground (about six wires straight out the box; mains lights etc)... The run of wires goes for about four foot (unboxed pinned to the wall with no cover) before being buried under the stairs and around the house.

Example 2: In the front room there is a plug in the right side alcove (low down) that has a single (unfused) cable (buried) going up to a wall light! There is another cable coming from this plug at 45 degrees which again buried goes over the mantle piece (straight) then ends up in another wall light ... again completely unfused from 240v. The light fittings of these wall lights, over the years have become brittle.

I've told and better told this lady that she probably is not insured with just these two instances and she needs the place re-wiring (she could afford it).

I've not inspected the rest of the house but suspect it's as bad if not worse.

Am I going 'over the top'.  She says that it's been fine for many years... so why bother.