Gaining more experience.

Talk Electrician Forum

Help Support Talk Electrician Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

chrisg1979

Reaction score
Just a few opinions and advice wanted on gaining more experience in the electrical trade.

I currently work for a large company who carry out all aspects of domestic electrical work, from small breakdowns, fault finding and rectification, to new installations and inspection and testing.

I gained my experience and qualifications (2382, 2391 etc) through the company but am essentially qualified as a domestic installer.

I've been doing it for 5 years now and deem myself to be competent at what I do and like to think that I am well thought of by my colleagues, most of whom are time served electricians.

My installation work has been assessed by the ECA as necessary for the companys registration and all feedback had been positive.

I love my work, and couldn't be happier that I was able to make the transition into this line of work, but now want to broaden my horizons and gain experience in commercial work as well as just domestic.

The company I work for have no intention of moving into this line of work and frankly I feel the time may be coming to move on.

I'm not claiming to be a qualified electrician, more a DI, am not wanting to prompt arguments or critisism for the way I got into this line of work, if I could turn back the clock I would but hey.

Just want a bit of advise on how to get into this field, ie do I need more qualifications or do I have what is needed and is it now experience that is required?

I work hard and am always willing to learn, do you think it possible that contractors would take me on with the quals/experience that I have?

Thanks in advance, Chris.

The principle is still the same, the only big difference is the containment. You just need the experience.