Getting in to the industry

Talk Electrician Forum

Help Support Talk Electrician Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

mjpzx2

Reaction score
Hi everyone,

My name's Michael. I've tried doing some research on this but all I can find is official information which doesn't always give the whole truth.

Basically for some background on my situation. I graduated from a course on geography with I.T. with a 2:2. I found the course uninspiring and realised half way into it that I had made the wrong choice in choosing to study for a degree and I would have been better taking an apprenticeship. I don't like to quit though and finished my degree.

I'm now working as an estate agent (sorry folks), which whilst I enjoy it's not something I'd like to progress up to manager in. I'm currently saving up to go to New Zealand for 8 months in July. This has made me start thinking about what I want to do with my life when I get back.

I really want to learn a trade and being an electrician is something that interests me greatly. My end goal is to become self employed. Given that I will be 24 and a graduate with no money by the time I get back my options seem to be pretty limited.

I just really want advice on my best way into the industry. I'm very motivated which I know will help me. I guess my first step would be to sign up for a city & guilds 2330 course at a college and try and find a casual part time job to pay for it. Going from there what would be my best steps. Is it important to meet JIB standards?

How easy is it to get into an apprenticeship and what qaulifications do they usually ask for? Also does anyone know how much they cost? If I apply before I'm 25 I will have to pay 50% of the costs for it and if I'm 25 I will have to pay for them all.

I know it's a lot of questions but any advice you all have would be a great help. Many thanks, Michael.