Help please

Talk Electrician Forum

Help Support Talk Electrician Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

damov8

Reaction score
I'm having my council house rewired. I have an existing out building with high demand appliances running on 3 phase inverters. It has its own fuse board with a 50a main circuit breakers running to a 50a smaller breakers in the main house fuse box. They now tell me that they that they cannot get a 50a breakers for the house fuse box and proposed to put a 32a instead..is this safe and acceptable?? Sorry for the lack of knowledge I'm no electrician

I'm having my council house rewired. I have an existing out building with high demand appliances running on 3 phase inverters. It has its own fuse board with a 50a main circuit breakers running to a 50a smaller breakers in the main house fuse box. They now tell me that they that they cannot get a 50a breakers for the house fuse box and proposed to put a 32a instead..is this safe and acceptable?? Sorry for the lack of knowledge I'm no electrician
Plenty of 50 amp MCB's around, Screwfix list 10 of various makes and curves.

t2.PNG

As said I'm not an electrician and had it all planned and installed by an electrician in 2016....it powers my lathe and milling machine which both run 2x 3phase inverters each..so 4 in total.

I'm having my council house rewired..... and proposed to put a 32a instead..is this safe and acceptable??

Is this an ex-council house that you have now purchased...
Or is it still a council owned property?

If still council owned, are they saying they won't give you the 50A supply rather than they can't give you a 50A supply?

As a general rule a lower rated supply cannot be unsafe..

But it could well be a bit inconvenient due to nuisance tripping if your load exceeds the supply.
(especialy where you could have some significant start-up surges).

Is this an ex-council house that you have now purchased...