Light switch recommendations

Talk Electrician Forum

Help Support Talk Electrician Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Larches

Reaction score
I need a new round flush-mounted ceiling pull-cord switch with neon for a 23W shower extractor fan. The fan has a timed overrun, hence the need for neon (and/or mechanical indicator) as otherwise I'll forget whether I've turned it off or not. Screwfix stock the usual suspects... BG, Crabtree, MK and of course their own LAP switches, but all have very mixed reviews. I've noticed a Click PRC216 16A which looks like it'd do the job, cheap but possibly cheerful going by a few reviews on Amz. But I have no experience of Click (Scolmore?) as a brand. I've traditionally been a fan of MK gear but have seem various comments about declining quality. I've also had some decent stuff from BG but there are some complaints about their pull-cord switch. Yes, they have a seemingly impressive guarantee of 25 yrs, but it's still a load of hassle if replacement is necessary. So... any thoughts or recommendations?

Oh and while I'm on the subject of switches, I'm considering whether to shell out for a dimmer switch for some Osram GU10 LED spotlights in the bedroom (yes, they are dimmable). I gather most but not all LEDs require a trailing edge dimmer, which tend to be relatively expensive and it seems Varilight have cornered the market. Their V-Pro switches also seem to get very mixed reviews with some folk complaining of them being unreliable and difficult to set up (as they're programmable in some way). I'd be keen to have a push dimmer, and to avoid the dreaded buzz that you can get with leading edge ones. Any experiences on dimming LEDs and which switches to go for (or whether not to bother)?

Thanks...

Scolmore (Click)  will be fine  Larches , as would most other makes to be honest .

Thanks, that's good to know.