Plumbers mmm

Talk Electrician Forum

Help Support Talk Electrician Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

stan794

Reaction score
Called to a job this afternoon, customer just had a new shower fitted 3 weeks ago. It keeps going off she says. I go have a look and find the shower fitted with the pullcord switch directly above i kid you not so its dangling in front of you as you have a shower. I undo the switch to find the neutrals burnt out, not even tightened up at all. I explained to her the problem and what needed doing and she explained that she had called him 3 times to come back etc and he never turned up. So she rings him while i'm stood there and has a go at him, his reply was a classic "i'm a plumber not a bloody electrician" - shocking turns out he does not even have defined scope to allow him to do the work. Its bad really as he does lots of business in my town and has been going for years. :red card

I was in a plumbers merchants yesterday buying a room stat (Wilts sold out) when one plumber turns to the other and says "all a bit quiet at the moment Bert!?" "Yes" says Bert - "I would be screwed if it wasn't for all the electrical work I keep getting - got enough to last weeks!"

It's always a "problem" where plumbing meets wiring.

I'll bet there are plenty of plumbers **** me off for connecting the water when I install a shower.

In an ideal world, both a plumber and an electrician would go to fit a shower. Doesn't happen very often though.

Just to show we share the work, I had to disconnect a failed septic tank pump yesterday. I disconnected the plumbing as well as the wiring (yeah that WAS a s****y job) but the plumber will be going to fit the replacement including connecting it (it just plugs into a 13A socket in the chamber)