Solic 200 question

Talk Electrician Forum

Help Support Talk Electrician Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

devonlad

Reaction score
Hi all.:).
Just wondering about the above which I have fitted at ours.
I am also seeing 20-30w of power pulled from the grid on occasion when the Solic is sending power to the immersion.
I have contacted the seller who says that it is likely down to electrical noise at our property. He also says that the unit has to slide to zero which I can understand. My observations lead me to think there is something else going on though.
Just wondering if anyone has any thoughts on this?👍

I'm not an electrician, nor even a PV professional, but I've been used to doing practical electrical things now for over 50 years, and I reckon I'm perfectly capable of following installation instructions, especially if they are as straightforward as for the Solic Wireless immersion controller/diverter.

Your posting about the Solic 200 is the only mention I can find which has something in common with the problems which I am experiencing. Now I am wondering whether you, or anyone else, has any more useful comments to make about this curious phenomenon of importing from grid.

My Solic Wireless does more than reduce PV export to zero; it goes further and actually draws in power from the grid. However, all the LEDs on both the main unit and sensor function as expected. For example, at one stage the PV was generating 1150w, nothing being consumed by the house (all circuits other than PV and 3000w immersion turned off), smart meter in-house display showed importing 270w. The actual smart meter also confirmed power being imported. Just as strange is that the power drawn from grid increases with increased PV generation, and decreases with decreased PV generation, the precise opposite of what is expected.