To be or not to be... Employed that is.

Talk Electrician Forum

Help Support Talk Electrician Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

user 26816

Electrical guy.
Reaction score
Hi all, James here. I'm a qualified electrician, have worked in a few different industries, from power stations, national grid sites oil and gas etc etc. All industrial/ commercial installation and more recently maintenance.

I'm kind of wondering where I have gone wrong in life actually, which is what's driven me here. I'll be trawling the threads omand picking a few brains to see why I'm earning squit and see what I can do about it :D.

Good to meet you all.

.................I can not help but wonder, are you going to stay longer than you did last time? :unsure:

I presume you passed your exams with flying colours?

I'm now retired and have worked in many different industries as well as running my own business and working for myself.

Working for someone else is good, no real worries, end of the day switch off and go home, pay packet there at the end of the month. With some companies healthcare etc included.

Working for yourself, worry about money at the end of the month, getting more work, unable to switch off, all the paperwork to do etc etc. You can of course work all hours for nothing. That said, you are in control of your destiny, you make all the decisions, the list goes on.

I had a nice halfway house, long term contract PLC programming in USA for just over a year, great money, nice conditions, no worries about getting paid and they provided me with a Mustang and a suite in the holidays inn along with business class flights for me and my family as required. This was my favourite mode of employment.

Tough call, so many what ifs, one thing for sure if you have an idea, go for it, try it out because if you dont you will wondering how it would have worked out if you'd tried it.