Wiring A 3 Pin Uk Plug To A Fluorescent Batten Light Fitting?

Talk Electrician Forum

Help Support Talk Electrician Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

JohnnyBeGood

Reaction score
Hi everyone,

I was wondering if someone could explain to me how I would go about, and what I would need to wire a 3 pin UK mains plug to a fluorescent batten ceiling light fitting. I am putting the light on a stand and will be using it portably plugging it into mains wall sockets.

The ceiling fitting is a T8 eco batten twin HF 58W by Saxyby.

I am a complete novice when it comes to electrics, so will probably need even the most basic things explained to me.

All I know is that I'm guessing I will need some mains cable and a plug. As for any what type of mains cable, or any other materials or tools I might need, I have no idea. 

Thanks so much for your help.

Kind regards

Johnny

3 core 1mm flex. 3 amp fuse in the plug. And you need a 20mm stuffing gland where the cable exits the batten so it does not chaffe the cable on the otherwise sharp edges.

Hi ProDave,

Okay so could you check I've selected the right items... (I can't post links yet as I haven't met the forum requirements so will just write the names of the products with their specs)

Flex Cable 3183Y Per Meter 1mm 3 core
  • Construction: Plain annealed copper conductor, PVC insulated two core twisted together and PVC sheathed.
  • Current Rating : 10 Amps
  • Standards: Certified to BS6500, 4.0mm² to BS7919, CENELEC HD21.5, VDE 281
  • Conductor: Class 5 flexible plain copper conductors to BS EN 60228:2005 (previously BS6360)
  • Standard Colours: Cores - Blue & Brown / Sheath - White & Black
  • Voltage Rating: 300/500 Volts
  • Temperature Rating: 0°C to +60°C

Is the amperage okay? and all the other specs?

3AMP FUSE PLUGProduct Code: 710038

• Maximum Rating: 3:00 AM
  • Length: 51 mm
  • Width: 50 mm
  • Height: 43 mm
  • Years Guaranteed: 1 yr