Newbie Help - Hardwiring A Cooker

Talk Electrician Forum

Help Support Talk Electrician Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

mihcis

Reaction score
Sorry for the newbie question.

Would be grateful for some help in hardwiring a cooker, Zanussi ZCV621MW with a double oven.

The back terminal board looks like this:

CGdc7RQ.jpg

And the mains connection in the box looks like this:

e3LMRyr.jpg

The manual recommends the cable of 6mm2 and provides a scheme like this:

awKl6U5.jpg

I am total newbie in this, so not even sure what kind of cable do I need. Is it Twin & Earth and do I need to then need to split Live into two and Neutral into three as shown?

I am also guessing I need to replace the mains box for a proper junction box, otherwise the cable can't come out nicely?

I realize it would be better to get an electrician to do it, but I got quoted £40 by two guys each for a few minute job because they charge for at least 1 hour when called out. And since I am on a tight budget, I am set to do it myself.

Thanks in advance.

Use the type of cable recommended in the manual to connect the two items together...

It's usually something like H07RNF,,,, but you'd have to read the manual to be sure.... Get 3m, it'll make it easier in the future.

I assume that the wall plate has a cover that you've removed for the photo

you know what,

by the time you buy some cable,

a new screw and link,

a  new faceplate/outlet point etc,

paying a spark £40 wont seem so expensive after all,

and, it will be tested to ensure your earthing etc is within parameters.

would you think twice about paying a gasman £40 to connect a gas cooker?

The left hand neutral link is actually redundant as there are no connections from the left most neutral terminal. So you could use the screw from the left most N terminal and the left most N link to replace the missing L link and screw.