Running Jobs

Talk Electrician Forum

Help Support Talk Electrician Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Jackster213

Reaction score
Hi guys in need of a bit of advice. I’ve been an electrician for nearly 8 years now and I’ve been with the same company since the start. After about 4 or 5 years I started running the odd job and always enjoyed the challenge but at the same time sometimes felt the stress. I’ve now been given a job to run which even after one day is giving me sleepless nights. I’ve tried to break things down or even just try to forget about work once I’m home but it does seem to help. Do you think it’s viable to say to my boss I don’t want to run jobs from now on? I appreciate this would put me in a weaker position if things ever got tight, and I’m happy to earn less than the guys who do run jobs. I just want to be skilled labour that can forget about work once I’ve left. Has anyone else ever struggled with work stress and how did you deal with it? 

Cheers for any input! 

If it's seriously affecting your home life then yes, talk to your boss about it. 

After all, it's only a job at the end of the day. Family and home life are far more important in my opinion. 

An if the boss doesn't understand, time to start looking for work elsewhere. 

I've come close to a mental breakdown due to stress caused by work, I ended up quitting that job and it was the best decision made for me. I still have stress now, an I have to admit I do sometimes struggle to switch off (Especially working away from hotels. There's not much else to do).

If it's seriously affecting your home life then yes, talk to your boss about it. 

After all, it's only a job at the end of the day. Family and home life are far more important in my opinion. 

An if the boss doesn't understand, time to start looking for work elsewhere.