Can I be a electrician after completing level 3 electrical engineering apprenticeship?

Talk Electrician Forum

Help Support Talk Electrician Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Jregis94

Reaction score
I have currently gained my level 3 NVQ BTEC in electrical/electronic engineering over a 4 year apprenticeship in a factory building machines, I have very little experience with domestic wiring but has hoping if I completed my 17th edition and part p that maybe then I could try and gain some experience but then at least be a licensed electrician... been researching for hours and got no where PLEASE HELP?? Also I am currently studying my HNC in electrical engineering... I know it's irrelevant for electricians but thought I would mention it 

This is why the word electrician is in my opinion greatly misused. The study course you have chosen makes you the ideal candidate to design rather than install. I very much doubt that you would have the core skills to install.

I work with a very highly qualified maintenance trained electrician and he would agree.

What I would really like to know is why you would want to downgrade? No offence to our hard core highly motivated electrician base.

Hi Jregis    as I find myself keep saying on here , I don't know what qualies required these days , but as Andy says ,  don't get sidetracked by the phrase  "Part P "  . As he says it is merely part of the Building Regs  which says ..in a nutshell,  Domestic work should be done by a " Competent Person"   .  Someone will help on here , keep looking.   

Edit;   Just read Sidewinder's post  and totally agree  ........  there is a shortage of industrial engineers in my experience. 

Last edited by a moderator:
Thanks for fast responses people, the main reasons I was considering it and hope this answers 'manator's' question...

What I would really like to know is why you would want to downgrade?