Experienced worker route

Talk Electrician Forum

Help Support Talk Electrician Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Jc1996

Reaction score
Hi guys wondering if you could point me in the right direction. I’ve had 5 years +experience within the electrical industry. A lot has been electrical maintenance but also have experience with domestic and industrial installations. I have the following qualifications:
HNC in electrical/electronic engineering
Level 3 NVQ in engineering maintenance electrical
18th edition wiring regs
Test and inspect.
I am looking at going down the experienced worker route to finally get recognised as an electrician. Do you guys have any idea on price I should be paying for this qualification? Also should I have to pay for the skill scan?

Thanks in advance for your replies

Do you really need a gold card. Being recognised as an electrician in the UK is not subject to you holding a gold card.

This is quite true however there is a tendency now with many positions/employers asking for the gold card as a means to demonstrating qualification level.
I have held a gold technicians card for 25 + years and have been asked for evidence of it twice. I'll admit though my qualifications probably surpass what they are looking for but yes i agree this is probably the case.

I have held a gold technicians card for 25 + years and have been asked for evidence of it twice. I'll admit though my qualifications probably surpass what they are looking for but yes i agree this is probably the case.
Perhaps a better answer then would be it’s not relevant if like me you have qualification above and beyond those required for a gold card.

??

As I’d say the majority will have gold card qualies. 🤔