Lost Certificates - Help

Talk Electrician Forum

Help Support Talk Electrician Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Alan Richardson

Reaction score
HELP!!!!!

I am about to return to the electrical contracting industry after many years in management.

I originally took my City & Guilds Electrical Installations and Technology Course 236 parts 1 & 2 at Lincoln College of Technology around 1980.

I was an indentured apprentice with the J.I.B and passed my courses with credits.

I have lost my certificates and need to get copies. I can prove I started an indentured course as I have my original papers. However apparently the J.I.B do not keep records, and I have been charged £88 (2 applications at £44 each ) by the City and Guilds Archives to be told they do not have copies either.

The course was jointly run by City and Guilds and E.M.E.U (East Midlands Education Union) in Lincolnshire. This course provider no longer exists and I am running out of ideas???

I can't believe that neither the J.I.B not City and Guilds do not keep copies.

Has anyone got any more ideas I can try or even have a contact within the two above companies that could help shed any light on where I might obtain copies. Job progression depends on my getting copies of my certificates.

Fingers crossed in anticipation.

Many thanks fellow Sparkies.

I concur, City and Guilds have records going back before any of us alive were born. I think as far back as 1902 or some ridiculous year near that.

I did most of my training in the 1970's and they have copies of all my certificates from then.

I know a chap that was a college lecturer. He needed to provide copies of his certs as he had lost them. He asked the C+G and they could not find them.......

He had to take his exams all over again as his employer needed the certs.....