Programmer Voltage To Boiler Only 70Volts?

Talk Electrician Forum

Help Support Talk Electrician Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

bacoms

Reaction score
Hi all,

Cutting a long story short, I've let my house out via a letting agency while I'm away. Recently the tenants found that the CH did not come on and notified the agent who arranged a visit by an engineer.

The engineer claimed that the voltage being supplied to the boiler by the programmer was only 70volts, therefore the programmer was faulty. Subsequently he has replaced the programmer and the thermostat with a combined wireless programmer/thermostat, as he wasn't familar with what was there already.

Does anyone know what sort of problem with the programmer would cause it to only output 70V (sorry I can't remember the make & model of the programmer)? I would have thought that it would either output 240V or 0V.

I'm no expert but it all seems a bit odd.

It sounds to me as though the "cough" engineer really wasn't worth his "cough" title?!

What sort of system do you have? Combi, system boiler with hot water tank? Do you know how many motorised valves there were?

What sort of system do you have? Combi, system boiler with hot water tank? Do you know how many motorised valves there were?
Thanks for replying.

The boiler is a combi, one of the Worcester Bosch Greenstar range. I can't remember the model but it serves 9 rads. in a 3-bedroom house.

I don't recall any motorised valves external to the boiler.

Well the programmer could have been faulty, a faulty relay inside it for instance.

What bugs me is why he felt the need to replace a programmer with a programmable thermostat. Sounds like "making work" to me.

The engineer claimed that the voltage being supplied to the boiler by the programmer was only 70volts, therefore the programmer was faulty.