Becoming Part P Registered And Employing Others

Talk Electrician Forum

Help Support Talk Electrician Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Sparky79

Reaction score
Hi all

I have over ten years experience in all areas of electrical trade, although mainly commercial. At the moment im weighing up the possibilities of trying to make a go of my own business. Although most experience in commercial. The most feasible option financially and practically at the moment for me seems to be to register with a self cert scheme. Niciec DI seems to be most recognised so pretty set on going with these. I will be registering my business with this scheme. Although no guarantees of success with anything. I think it's best to plan properly at this stage and am concerned how if I am getting calls for work which I cannot attend because busy or distance constraints how I can try to keep these happy and fulfill these offers without creating an unreliable image to business. My query is really if I am NIC DI and I am able to send someone else to a notifiable job for me do they need to also be part of a DI scheme. Who is responsible for signing what and how heavily involved do I need to be involved to cert this through my company scheme. I realise this is a lengthy post but do wonder how alot of other businesses manage this as seems alot of them do it very differently ie pimlico plumbers require all engineers to be NIC DI but then there are alot of firms like housing association sparks that just require electricians to be 2391 and send them all over place doing their notifiable work. Just curious ;) will be very very grateful if someone can help me get my head around this bloody DI scheme