Capacity Of An Armoured Cable.

Talk Electrician Forum

Help Support Talk Electrician Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

nomisg

Reaction score
Hello,

I am not a qualified electrician, although I worked on domestic and industrial installations many years ago. Regulations are so different that I would be grateful for advice before anything. I am running a cable from a 3-phase board to a location approximately 30 meters away. This is to enable lighting and power to be available in a stable building. The system will be single phase. I WILL NOT BE MAKING ANY CONNECTIONS, ONLY RUNNING THE CABLE!

Since there appear to be different ways of calculating the current capacity of cables, I hope someone can tell me the capacity of the cable I have ready to install. The cable is as follows: 3 core armoured described on the invoice as

XLPE3X16.  3 X 16 XLPE, PVC, SWA, PVC 1KV BS5467 CORES BRN BLACK GREY BASEC.

Looking at the bare end of the roll, it is 20mm. diameter overall, black outer, steel armour, white interior with three cores of copper, each measuring 6mm in diameter, and each formed of 7 strands. It will be clipped to the interior wall of the building in "free" air at high level. No other cables nearby. I realise there are potential losses for distance etc., but would like to know the current that it can handle in order to work out what size of mounting board I should be thinking of making a suitable place for in the stable. It is quite awkward to handle, so should I be allowing space at the "board" for some form of junction box to terminate the armoured, since it seems fairly meaty to go directly into a consumer unit. Hope someone can give some advice. Many thanks