I am a Thief - Electrician Robs Children of Food

Talk Electrician Forum

Help Support Talk Electrician Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Bwy

Reaction score
I was asked to go to a house to quote for work required.

When I got there it was an old couple I would say in middle 80's or more and they wanted me to give them a price for putting up their outside Christmas lights.

Being a stupid person I offered to do the job for them for free saying this is not the sort of work I do but as a favour I would put them up for them.

Today I was at the top of the ladder with van parked on road when I heard a voice saying.......

"are you the sparks who owns this van mate"

Looking down I see a young guy perhaps mid 20' or early 30's.

Yes says I can I do anything for you ?

"How much do you charge for putting lights up like that" asks the man.

Sorry mate says me, I don't do this sort of work this is a favour for the couple who live here no payment involved.

I then got a verbal battering telling me that he is a sparks and he had quoted for putting those lights up. He continued to tell me that I was nothing less than a thief robbing food from his children's mouths and it is sparks like me who spoil it for the trade.

The verbal hurt a little as I could not believe that anyone could complain about a person helping the elderly, seems I was wrong.

I thought I should make this post just in case there are any other sparks out there who I have robbed like this....sorry guys ....didn't mean to do that. bad day explode

Helping our old folk these days is i'm afraid, a dirty word ...and all too few, would even think about doing a favour for those that just can't manage to do things as they once could.

All power to you Bwy.... you were brought up Right!!!!

someone was obviously desparate to rob OAPs, though doing anything for free that actually involves work does grate a bit with me. Having said that, had