is this reportable and sould i???????????????

Talk Electrician Forum

Help Support Talk Electrician Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.

zeff737

Reaction score
hi peeps.

Could you help me with a moral dilemma?...... am I talking out of my bum, or is this really worth pursuing in today's electrically health and safety conscious world.................!!

the situation is this,

I'm a 40 year old mechanical maintenance fitter by trade (when I did my time there was no such thing as multi skilled, the unions sore to that).

As time has passed ive found it essential to learn the electrical side of the job so I signed up to do it a few years ago at evening classes at the local collage (which is a lie really, ive been to collage off my own back and at great expense and have been tort to pass the C&G 2330 level 2 & 3 but still dont know my ar$e from my elbow when it come to hands on!)

I was made redundant recently and thought that the 2330 would be a string to my bow as ive been fault finding and wiring on 230 to 24v machines for 5 years and could find and correct the faults safely 99% of the time, it just may have taken me 2 hours where as a proper spark could have done it in 10 mins.

Heres is the rub......please be impartial and professional with your responses...................

I found a job as a maintenance engineer at a local firm with no trouble as my C.V speaks for its self. as soon as I started I was introduced the the electrical CONTRACTOR that has been looking after thesite for 20 years. i introduced my self and said as ive just got my 2330 level 3 id be very grateful if he could show me the practical side of fault finding, testing etc.

I was given I very firm F*&K OFF...................................this is my job and your not qualified to do F&*K all......whats 2330?........................!!!!!!!!!!!!!